Challah

I made challah bread today, because I really like its taste. Its taste is a little sweet, and it tastes mostly like bread. It is soft.

My favourite part about making challah bread was when I could braid the challah bread. After I braided my challah bread I brushed egg on the challah bread and then I waited for 10 minutes. After, I put more egg on the challah bread and the egg made it shiny.

Brushing on the egg

And I waited for about another hour and I put it in the oven, and then I baked the challah bread, and then I let it cool down, and my Mom took pictures of me and Berend with my challah bread.

Jasper and Berend with Challah Bread

I really love my challah bread.

 

Challah Recipe

For the sponge:

  • 1 1/2 c. warm water
  • 2 T. yeast
  • 2 c. bread flour
  1. Mix all the ingredients together and let them sit for an hour.

For the dough:

  • 1 recipe sponge
  • 1/2 c. warm water
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 3 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 eggs, plus 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 c. oil
  • 6 c. bread flour
  • 1 egg for egg wash
  1. Add all the ingredients (except the egg for the wash) together and knead them in a stand mixer, with the dough hook, for 10 minutes.
  2. Cover the bowl and let the dough rise for 1 hour.
  3. Punch the dough down. Divide it into three pieces and roll them into ropes.
  4. Braid the dough ropes and place braid on a parchment-lined baking sheet.
  5. Beat the remaining egg, and brush it all over the loaf.
  6. Let the loaf sit 10 minutes then brush it a second time.
  7. Let it rise for another 50 minutes, then bake it for 50 minutes at 350.
8 responses

  1. Pingback: French Toast Smack Down: Challah vs. Brioche | Abby Made Me Do It

Leave a Reply

